two truths

I spent almost the entire day doing work for the family.  Finances.
Bookkeeping.  Library fines.  Itineraries.  Termite control.  Jury duty
registration.   Each chore was as necessary and boring as the last.
Then I came to the boys’ school’s 2007-2008 Calendar of Important Dates
which I dutifully entered into my own calendar.

Two truths struck me. First, the bald and eternal veracity of my sister
P’s oft-quoted (by me) observation that, "The more you pay, the less
you go."  And second, that after next year I will have only one more
year of Middle at home and Youngest will be in high school.

When I think about the former, I laugh.  When I think about the latter, my heart seizes up.

3 thoughts on “two truths

Leave a Reply

