spirit in the house…

I was talking to a friend of mine the other day, whose youngest daughter had just had her period for the first time. Her older daughter had immediately sent her sister a care package with a note that spoke of how close they had always been and how now they could be even closer.  I had two reactions to the story:  first, my old longing for a daughter was reactivated and second, I wondered what my friend had done to create such a lovely spirit in the house between the two sisters.

The only time I consistently feel my boys connecting in an open, relaxed, uncompetitive way is when we are traveling.  Something about being out of their comfort zone and thrown together in strange circumstances always brings out the best in them. 

What brings out the best in your kids?

2 thoughts on “spirit in the house…

  1. When the stars align, and they have mutually decided to play the same thing at the same time with the same objectives — it’s beautiful to behold, and it never fails to makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

