Daily Tao #48

I have been slowly working my way through the Tao Te Ching. I keep coming back to 48, because I think its message is particularly relevant to mothering. 

I am going to take it a couple lines at a time for a few days. Now that NaBloPoMo is over (yessss!), I don’t feel any sense of obligation to Post – except a tiny bit toward Mizmell.  But I am going to try and find ways to stay consistently present here and just see what that feels like…

These are the first two lines from #48. 

In the pursuit of knowledge,
every day something is added.

These lines kinda perfectly describe my first, oh, nineteen years of mothering.  I studied mothering.  I pondered it. I sought as much information from as many reliable sources as I could find.  I worked the problem of what kind of mother I wanted to be. I talked with my friends about every possible detail of mothering.  I even spent a couple of years working as a journalist writing about mothering.  I was happy with the work because felt I was getting paid for books I would have read anyway.

I spent many years building my mothering self out of other people’s bricks.

4 thoughts on “Daily Tao #48

Leave a Reply

