transformation…

With so many of my friends and the media talking about how transformational an Obama presidency would be, I keep thinking, what could be more transformational for our culture than 50% of the population, for the first time, being able to look at the President and think, "that could be me"? 

I don’t agree with everything Robin Morgan says in this piece, but I love this: "Me, I’m voting for Hillary not because she’s a woman—but  because I am."

Gender aside, I am very swayed by this dissection of one of their few significant policy differences, health care.  One of the great benefits of experience – and failure – is that you get to learn from it.  She learned a lot from her first pass at getting us all universal health care. She is not going to make the same mistakes again. Her plan would cover vastly more people at a fractionally higher cost.

And in the end, while I concede he is a better public speaker when he has a script, I think she kicked his ass in the debates. 

I want a President who can think on her feet.

8 thoughts on “transformation…

  1. There was a discussion about the two of them on the BBC programme “Question Time” and one of the panellists commented that the US was probably more ready to elect a black president than a woman president. It’s certainly turning out to be a bit of a barometer as to how far society really has changed in this respect.

  2. Yes, she’s definitely qualified but I’m concerned about her propensity to incite riotous hatred in her opponents. I have never seen someone so polarizing save for GWB and we don’t need another four years of that kind of divisiveness.

  3. CCE is right about her ability to polarize. I come from a family and land of plenty of die-hard Republicans, and they still can’t forgive her for being married to Bill or for being so outspoken as first lady. They rarely have bad things to say about Obama, but they HATE Hillary. The more she speaks, the more they hate her. That said, she totally kicks Obama’s butt in debates. Even if I don’t agree with all of her policies, I have confidence that she would at least be able to do something as President.

  4. The “she’s so polarizing” argument is one I do not understand, and I can only guess that its roots are purely gender-based. Does she say hateful things? No. Does she pit one side against another? no more than anyone else.
    I can only guess that some people hate her because she’s a strong woman. Then they blame her for their hatred, and she becomes polarizing. I don’t get it.
    Yes, people really hate her — but ask them why. Try to get specifics. I’ve heard “her voice is too shrill”, or “her hips are too wide” or “she and bill are too ambitious”…
    I don’t think she does anything to be polarizing — she just is a strong woman who isn’t backing down, and a lot of people hate that. So they demonize her, and other people are swayed by the demonization, not by the woman herself.
    Anna, your thought “what could be more transformational for our culture than 50% of the population, for the first time, being able to look at the President and think, “that could be me”?” is the sentiment that is driving me today, too.

  5. I respect your position enormously, but I will be voting for Obama. I see him as more of a visionary, and, quite frankly, I think we need a visionary very, very badly right now.
    And if I have an issue with Clinton (of course I’ll vote for her if she’s our candidate), it’s that she is fundamentally not a community builder.
    I agree that she’s extremely knowledgeable, but I think Obama is bright enough to learn on the job, and quickly, too. And certainly bright enough to handpick a knowledgeable staff.
    So there it is. I thought for some time about commenting. I don’t want to be inflammatory. I like her, too.
    But Obama it is, for me.

  6. I am so excited to see so many involved in this election! I guess that the Bush years made everything so damn bad, that we all realized we had to do something. So there’s his legacy: He helped made Americans more politically active by showing us just how damn bad it can be if you don’t get involved.
    And I am voting for Hillary Clinton. I admire her strong character and vision for this country. I like her “greatest good for the greatest number” approach.

  7. I voted for Hillary in the primary, because I think she is most qualified of the two, but also because I want to sustain the competition so that if Obama is the candidate, he can hone his positions by then. (He does deliver more content every time I hear him.)
    The real bottom line is who is most electable? There is no good reason to hate Hillary, but plenty of people do, and that worries me. Hanging out at some Republican-type blogs, I see this, “i’d vote for Obama over McCain but i’d really like Romney.” and “I would absolutely never vote for Hillary.” So that’sa factor in my recent thinking.
    I still want Edwards for attorney general.

Leave a Reply

