read 'em and weep…

Because I cannot stop thinking about how Hillary Clinton’s campaign for the most powerful job on earth has brought to the surface of our national political consciousness the poison of sexism and misogyny that has been here, but invisible to so many of us, all along , I thought I would share you some writings from the blogosphere that I think  are really good on the subject.

I’d start here with a really good overview of sexist language in media coverage of Hillary Clinton.

With a nod to Valle, who pointed me towards it, here is Erica Jong’s piece in the Washington Post. I loved reading an old school feminist’s take on Hillary’s journey.

You must take a gander at Mrs. G’s post that includes images of some of the anti-Hillary campaign memorabilia.  Keep scrolling until you see the Hillary nutcracker.  It is a startling, horrifying slew of imagery.

Melissa McKewen’s post about why fighting sexism should be at the top of any progressive’s list of values and why Barak Obama, who is doing nothing but profiting from the rampant sexism in the political discourse, should say something about it.

Tom Watson on the "sexist media lynching of Hillary Clinton."

And Stanley Fish in the New York Times on Monday, writing about the response to his earlier piece on Hillary-Hate.

Robin Morgan’s Goodbye to all that #2 You gotta read this, if only to get your blood going.

But if you are only going to read one of my suggestions, please, take a couple minutes out of your day and make it this.  Because I don’t want to be the leader of the most powerful nation in the world, I can freely, unabashedly, and happily say it made me cry.

Edited to add, courtesy of SF Mom of One, the following link to Shirley Chisolm’s speech, including these lines, "As a black person, I am no stranger to race prejudice. But the truth is that in the political world I have been far oftener discriminated against because I am a woman than because I am black."

8 thoughts on “read 'em and weep…

  1. This is a great collection. I really related to Jong. Guess you could call me an old school feminist myself. 🙂
    I jumped over here after posting on my mini-flash through HRC’s life, and Jong laid it out in detail, beautifully.
    As a thank you gift, here is a link Shirley Chisolm’s speech, including these lines, “As a black person, I am no stranger to race prejudice. But the truth is that in the political world I have been far oftener discriminated against because I am a woman than because I am black.”
    http://gos.sbc.edu/c/chisholm.html

  2. I’ve diligently read them all. The level of fear and vitriol is quite terrifying. One can see similar traits over here in how the marvelous Mo Mowlam was treated. Or how, when a tranche of women in their thirties got elected when Labour got in on a landslide all those years ago, the media dubbed them “Blair Babes.”

Leave a Reply

