I feel vindicated…

Perhaps because I spend a lot of time barefoot, I always let the boys run around barefoot.

Yes, in the city.  Yes, on the sidewalks. Yes, in the rain.  Yes, in winter.

I did draw the line at walking barefoot in the snow. 

Happy now?

I never understood why anyone would buy shoes with hard soles for infants, much less someone spending a significant amount of time trying to learn how to walk.  It is so much easier to toddle barefoot.

I had mothers look askance, fathers lift their eyebrows, teachers harrumph.  But did I care?  No I did not.

I told the mother’s that being dirty can boost your immune system.

I told the fathers that being dirty can make you happier.

I told the teachers the boys would wear shoes by the time they started kindergarten.

Now that everyone is all grown up and shoe-wearing, I finally found the best reason to walk barefoot.

It’s good for your feet.

So, now that you have the perfect rejoinder for those nosy adults with nothing better to do than get on your case for the choices you make with your children, please, for me, go forth, and go forth barefoot.

11 thoughts on “I feel vindicated…

  1. A couple years ago I was given a crash course on the benefits of walking and even running barefoot, as I was promoting the Nike Free line of shoes – basically a running shoe that offers zero padding and support. However, regular shoes keep your own foot from flexing, thus from building up muscle. A few days after I began wearing the Free shoes my feet were incredibly sore… but over time I found I could stand and walk longer without discomfort, with or without regular shoes (as long as I wore the Frees with some frequency).
    Anyway, the example that we kept pointing to were Kenyan runners. People mistakenly attribute their athletic prowess to being accustomed to a high atmosphere with less oxygen, when, in fact, it is because they train barefoot.

  2. I’m practically a Zulu, because I love being barefoot and encourage my kids to enjoy it too. It was odd for me moving from a barefoot culture in Africa to Germany where people think being barefoot is tantamount to inviting in pneumonia.
    I feel vindicated too.

  3. Barefoot was beautiful when living in Miami…it is less so now that we’re in Massachusetts and even spring is characterized by 30 degree mornings. Andddd there is the pressure of needing perfect toes, buffed, polished and presentable if one is to trot them out day after day. I’m sticking with tennis hoses until my first summer pedicure.

  4. I devoured this article! Thanks for pointing us to it…I too am a barefoot walker (in the 2 weeks of good weather we have here yearly in Mass)…and i have the callouses to prove it…
    I’d love to check out those Nikes that David (and the article) referred to…

  5. I spent most of my life, until I started working, barefoot. Growing up in the South made that easier. I suppose I should try to encourage it more with my boys, too. Though I do draw the line at interior public places, like grocery stroes, ick!

  6. Supermum grew up barefoot and has quite the most beautiful, shapely feet I’ve ever seen (no, I don’t have a foot fetish!) I’ve got into the habit around the house and were some of those “barefoot” type of shoes (with Kevlar soles!) whenever possible.
    Oh, and I tagged you for a meme type thing. Sorry.

  7. When we were kids, as soon as the weather started to warm up we would start asking Mom, “Can we go barefoot now?” It was like a holiday when she finally said “yes.”

  8. I remember barefoot summers. When I remember is sitting on the side of the tub washing my feet before getting into bed! Momo was a stickler and got us into the habit each evening so dirty feet never met clean sheets.
    I was later informed that walking barefoot would make your feet grow bigger. I don’t know if there’s any truth to that or not…

Leave a Reply

