bonding moment

After our typically silent car ride home from practice, Youngest usually grabs a snack and heads to his room.  The door closes and chances are good I will not see him again until dinner.

Yesterday, I had had enough. I knocked on his door and went in.

"Come on, Youngest, we need to have a bonding moment."

He looked up from his computer and lifted an eyebrow (hey, when did he learn to lift an eyebrow?  And why wasn’t I informed?).

"Must we?" he inquired.

"Yes.  We must."

I lay down on top of his duvet and patted the spot next to me.

"Oh, all right."

He lay down next to me and put his head on my chest.

"For how long?"

"One minute."

For the first thirty seconds, I was lost in memory. How many times did his tiny self fall asleep on me, his head getting heavier the deeper he fell?

And then I heard something. Something whispered. Something rhythmic.

"Youngest, are you?… Could you be?… Don’t tell me you are….counting the seconds?!?"

I felt his body shake with silent laughter.

That devil.

My angel.

6 thoughts on “bonding moment

Leave a Reply

