Filed Under: Foods I have always been a teensy bit afraid of…

Squash.

Well, not afraid of IT per se. It is an inanimate vegetable after all. But cooking it? Yes, I’ll admit it.

I could barely get past the challenge of peeling it, much less getting the seeds out. For some reason, squash seems to require a more radical transformation from vegetable to cooked food than, say, a carrot or a head of broccoli.

Or maybe it’s just residual fearsomeness left over from my early encounters with its most frightening relative, the pumpkin.

“Pathetic?” you gently suggest.

As Middle would say, “I am aware.”

But in honor of Halloween’s approach, and because this landed in my inbox this morning, I’m makin’ these tonight.

Courtesy of…

Leave a Reply

