re: Sigh

So yesterday, if you recall, I was pining.

For fun, I sent that Halloween photo to Oldest and got this in return.

***

To: Mom

From: Oldest

Subject: re: Sigh

that is such a good picture.  Girlfriend wants more.

***

Double sigh. Girlfriend!

So I sent her this…

I don’t think it is possible to accurately convey the longing this picture evokes.   For the sweet protrusion of belly, the wisps of blond hair, the pajama-y softness of white cotton, the crease – the crease! – at his wrist.  And for my own warring impulses. Do I help him tolerate the anxiety that silly hat has clearly created, take it off this instant or get the picture before it all goes away?

Leave a Reply

